Russell County’s Laney Elected State Women’s Leadership Committee Vice Chair

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Photo: Russell County’s Jo Ann Laney was elected State Women’s Leadership Committee vice chair during the Alabama Farmers Federation’s 96th annual meeting in Montgomery Dec. 4. From left are Federation State Women’s Leadership Division Director Kim Ramsey and Laney.

State Women’s, Young Farmers Committee Members Elected

State Women’s Leadership and Young Farmers committees are revitalized for another year of educating others and advancing agriculture following elections at the Alabama Farmers Federation’s 96th annual meeting in Montgomery Dec. 3-4.

Debbie Roberts of Fayette County will serve as Women’s Leadership chair, while Ben Maples of Limestone County was elected Young Farmers chair. Both will serve one-year ex-officio terms on the Federation’s state board of directors.

Other State Women’s Leadership Committee officers elected at the meeting include Vice Chairman Jo Ann Laney of Russell County and Secretary Kathy Gordon of Montgomery County.

Cullman County’s Lydia Haynes was elected region 1 director, which includes Blount, Cherokee, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Franklin, Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan and Winston counties.

Mobile County’s Debbie Freeland was elected region 3 director, which includes Baldwin, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Escambia, Hale, Lowndes, Marengo, Mobile, Monroe, Montgomery, Perry, Sumter, Washington and Wilcox counties.

Lee County’s Ann Whatley was elected the at-large state committee member.

County committees were honored for excelling in 2017 during the Women’s Leadership Division Awards Luncheon. Wilcox County received the Most Improved Committee Award. Outstanding county committee awards were presented to Fayette County, Division 1; St. Clair County, Division 2; and Calhoun County, Division 3.

Marshall County took home first place in pop tab collections, with 299.5 pounds donated to benefit Ronald McDonald Houses in Alabama. In total, county Women’s Leadership committees collected 1,949 pounds of pop tabs in 2017.

Five committee members were elected to the State Young Farmers Committee. New members are Brady Peek of Limestone County, District 1; Chase Hammock of Talladega County, District 3; Cooper Holmes of Perry County, District 5, who was also elected vice chair; Jonathan Sanders of Coffee County, District 7; and Garrett Dixon of Lee County, South Alabama At-Large. Taber Ellis of Autauga County will serve as secretary.

Outstanding Young Farmers county committees were honored during the meeting. Winners were Cherokee County, Division 1; Limestone County, Division 2; and Montgomery County, Division 3.