Heart of the Community: Faculty, staff honored Saturday

Heart of the Community: Faculty, staff honored Saturday

By Denise DuBois

Phenix City Schools teachers, faculty and staff will be made to feel special this Saturday as they are honored at the annual Heart of the Community Awards at Central High School’s auditorium. The night begins at 5:30 p.m. ET with a reception, and the awards start at 6:30 p.m. The public is invited to attend.

The annual event began 18 years ago, sponsored by the Phenix City Education Foundation. The foundation has raised more than $200,000 for educational project grants for school employees. In addition, the foundation has two scholarships, the Adams Scholarship that provides funds for a Central High student going to Auburn University, and the Gullatt Scholarship that provides funds for a Central High student who is attending the University of Alabama.

“This is one of the greatest nights in our school system,” said Superintendent Randy Wilkes. We all get together to celebrate the outstanding achievement of all employees. It’s a fun, lighthearted night and at the same time gives due recognition.”

Teachers, faculty and staff are nominated for the Heart of the Community Awards from each school. Individuals then submit an essay with an application that includes why they do what they do. They also provide credentials depending on the category. Those applications are read and judged on a grading system to find out who will be awarded. The winners of elementary and secondary teachers of the year are submitted to the state for the annual teachers of the year awards.

This year, there are eight categories of personnel and three categories of community partners and volunteers.

Classroom Teacher

Sarahann Arcila

Loretta Baber

Dontavius Montray Barkley

Grace Boutwell

Michelle Evans

Karima Hoytt

Lindsey Johnston

Lindsay Pittman

Laura Powers

Mikiala La’Shan Shavers

Bryon Townsend

Lisa Wilson

Specialty Area Teacher

Tabatha Shea Booth

Chermier Chasity Cokely

Jennifer Hall

Brandi Laney

Melinda Marler

Christie Murrell

Gerald Scott Schofield

Christina Freeman Wilson

Rookie Teacher

Jenequa Allen

Garrett Burns

Chantal Edmond

Troy Jackson

Shelby Jenkins

John Reid McGlamory

Angela Marie Miller

Alexis Ross

Sharina Sanders

STEM Teacher

Ashley Allen

Ben Baker

Chermin V. Carnes

Brett Fleaman

Liz Hudon

Robert Kushmar

Dixie Moore

Clay Ninas

KeLeigh Pritchett

Food Service Employee

Michelle Chambers

Susan Hoskins

Teddy Huff

William T. Johnston

Paula Elaine Pritchett

Katrina Sanders

Laura Sewell

Crystal Wright

Katherine Wright


Custodial Employee

Arnold Bellamy

David Bellamy

Antony Billingsley

William Daniels

Eddie Dawson

Willie James Ivery

Chad Jernigan

Lasandra Moore

David Wroblewski

Support Employee

Trevor Davis

Angela Marie Edmond

Jennifer Greene

Lara Beth Johns

Jamie Leigh Jones

Rhonda Magby

Kristyn Pace

Jessica Pair

Matressa Phillips-Perry

Horace Wilton Powell III



Frank Crowell

Dawn Floyd

Tommie Gary

Kathy L. Herman

Debra Patterson

Hugh Shedrick, Jr.

Randy Newman


Melissa Berg

Emma Brougham

Robbie Cameron

Jennifer Cummings

Tonia Dunn

Brad Estes

Shannon Poole

William Randle

Brinda Thomas

Community Member

Chris Blackshear

Robb Goodman

Micah Holland

Donald Housey

Melanie Johnson

John Leonard

Jonathan Murray

Charlie L. Sanders

Jennifer Tovey

Partner in 


Bi-City Corvette Club


Dunkin Donuts

Epworth United Methodist Church


Pine Hill Baptist Church


South Griffin Lodge

Summerville Baptist Church



Latest Posts

Top Authors

Most Commented

Featured Videos