MCJROTC: Smith Station Defeats Arlington Grand Prairie

In an undisputed contest, shooting their highest score this season, 986 points, Smith Station MCJROTC defeated Arlington Grand Prairie MCJROTC. Their third win in a row. With the win, Smith Station MCJROTC is in eighteenth place overall and fourth place within their ‘Marine Corps Jrotc’ conference.  They currently have a 3 – 0 record. Smith Station MCJROTC was led by, Chase Peterson who shot a 259. The remaining contributing members were Elixandra Cruz, Jenna Anthony, and Hannah Williams. Smith Station MCJROTC is from Smith Station, Ala., and is coached by Major William Bolden.

Arlington Grand Prairie MCJROTC currently has a 0 – 3 record. Arlington Grand Prairie MCJROTC is from Grand Prairie, Texas, and is coached by Marcus Young. 

Next up Smith Station MCJROTC will compete against West Broward AJROTC from Pembroke Pines, Fla. West Broward AJROTC currently has a 3 – 0 record. While Arlington Grand Prairie MCJROTC will compete against Binghamton Rifle Club from Binghamton, N.Y. Binghamton Rifle Club currently has a 0 – 3 record. 

These two teams are competing in the Distinguished Division of the Orion National Air Rifle League. Sponsored by the Orion Scoring System, the league is a national team league for high school teams and junior rifle clubs. The league has two parts. An eight-week regular season going on now, followed by a single game Conference Title Game for the top two teams in each conference.

In each game the teams compete in what is known as a Three-Position Air Rifle match. The match is modeled after Olympic Rifle competitions but adapted to high school age athletes. Each athlete will shoots 10 shots in three different shooting positions, prone, standing, and kneeling. Each shot is worth a maximum of 10 points. The sum of points scored in the 30 shots is the athlete’s total. The team score is comprised of the best four athletes from each team.