Crawdads now defunct

Reading Time: 1 minute

By Ronald Frazier

For the first time in six years, there will be no Sun Belt League baseball played at Bill Bowers Park as the Phenix City Crawdads will not have a summer league team to participate in the wood bat league.

“It was decided by the league to be a metro Atlanta league and cut travel costs for every team,” said Phil Stilwell, who is an assistant coach at Glenwood and was the 2017 Sun Belt League president.

“The Carrollton team will also not be in the league,” Stilwell reported.

Carrollton’s entry, the Clippers was 2017 Eastern division champions. The Crawdads in their five years won two division championships and were also in the finals versus the Atlanta Crackers in their first two years. The Crackers were league champions four straight years before 2017 when they lost to the Marietta Patriots.

The six teams now in the Sun Belt Wood bat league are the Alpharetta Aviators (formerly the Braves), the Crackers, the Brookhaven Bucks, Gwinnett Tides, the Patriots and Norcross Astros.

Since the 2017 finals, the team from Marietta has been renamed the Sun Belt Patriots.