Phenix City to host Cal Ripken tourneys

Reading Time: 2 minutes

By Chad Dixon

Phenix City will be the host site for the 2018 Cal Ripken District 5 12U baseball tournaments June 11-16. There are two divisions: 50/70 (50 ft. mound/70 ft. base paths) and 46/60 (46 ft. mound/60 ft. base paths). Each Phenix City team will compete against teams from Sylacauga and Alex City. The Phenix City 50/70 team is comprised of Kaleb Andrews, Carson Barger, Ben Graham, Mitchell Green, Trandon Hutchinson, Christopher Kelly, Mason McCraine, Desi Morgan, Jr., Donovan Samuel, Jackson Singletary, Lawson Weirich and Eric Wilson, Jr.

They will open on June 11 against Sylacauga at Idle Hour Park at 6:30 ET. The winner will play Alex City at 8:30 ET. The losers of the first two games will play on June 12 at 6:30 ET and the tournament will conclude on Thursday.

Connor Britton, Chancellor Coleman, Ashton Hardy, Brandon McCraine, Cason Page, Jacob Page, Thomas Sims, Brody Stamp, Bailey Thorne, Dawson Walters, Hunter Wippert and Brewer Woody make up the Phenix City 46/60 team. They will open their tournament on June 11 against Talladega at Idle Hour Park at 6:30 ET.

The 11U team will travel to Alex City on June 11 and will play Alex City in the first round. The team includes: Jordan Blakcum, Daniel Cameron, Jaxson Griggs, Michael Heimbach, Logan Henderson, Braden Hudson, Corvee James, Levi Pinder, Bryce Pointer, Brantly Rothrock, Carson Scott and Lawson Stratton.

Phenix City’s 10u All-Stars will be in Childersburg on June 13 in Childersburg. Macarthy Blair, Carson Britton, Trevor Clement, Kade Cox, Cameron Dawson, Carter Judah, Brandon Niles, Cameron Norton, Gavin Oswalt, Parker Owens, Alex Phillips and Brody Wells comprise the Phenix City team.

Boston Brown, Hudson Campbell, Carson Carswell, Trey Claridy, Tyler Claridy, Gavin Clement Cooper Favors, Cohl Flourney, Gray Garner, Colton Head, Sam Laney, Asher Long and Jaxon Smith make up the 9U Phenix City All-Stars and will play on June 11 in Alex City.

The 8U team will play in Sylacauga on June 14. The team includes: Jeremiah Baldwin, Colton Barger, Capps Burkes, Jacob Davis, Rhett English, Aidan Grimes, Deacon Leatherwood, Davis Litton, Rylan Moore, Sawyer Moss, Cam Sessions, Parker Sims and Christian Thomas.

Phenix City will have two teams in the 7U tournament on June 14 in Sylacauga. The East team is comprised of Cole Bence, Zyaire Brookins, Macen Garland, Nolan Groce, Mason Kiker-Brooks, Colten Parkinson, Kason Peterson, Caleb Phillips, Carson Porter, Cooper Singletary, Corbin Smith, and Grey Walters. They will open the tournament against the Sylacauga team.

The West team includes: Booth Lawson, Casen Clay, Conner Denard, Mason Hatcher, Harrison Hedges, Ace Little, Cason Long, Tripp McMurray, Maddux Money, Van Richards, Daelyn Samuel, John Stecenko and Zio Wilson. They will open the June 14 tournament against Alex City.