United Way raises $7,241,800 for local non-profit organizations

United Way raises $7,241,800 for local non-profit organizations
Photo:Wade Burford (center, left) was given the D. Abbott Turner Volunteer Award at the United Way Thank You event on Feb. 20. The United Way of the Chattahoochee Valley raised $150,000 more than its goal.

The United Way of the Chattahoochee Valley celebrated meeting their fund raising goals with an awards ceremony on the evening of Feb. 20 at the Phenix City Marriott. The organization, with the help of volunteers, raised $7,241,800 that will go to funding their goal of creating a strong and healthy community. Children from the Boys’ and Girls’ Club were on hand to entertain guests with music and help deliver the awards. 

“Raising over 7.2 million dollars and far exceeding our goal shows what is possible when an entire community works together,” said President and COO of Synovus Kevin Blair, 2019 United Way Campaign Chair. 

“This has been an amazing effort by hundreds of partners and volunteers along with over 15,000 donors—all working together collectively to ensure that everyone in the Chattahoochee Valley is cared for and supported,” he added.

United Way’s 2019 campaign theme was “Change Doesn’t Happen Alone.” This year’s campaign goal of $7.075 million was revealed at the campaign kickoff in August. By working together, the community exceeded that goal to raise the most money ever.

“Exceeding our goal by over $150,000 and hitting a historic high for the United Way of the Chattahoochee Valley campaign is a great credit to the spirit of philanthropy in our region,” said Ben Moser, President & CEO of United Way of the Chattahoochee Valley.

Gildan and the Harris County School District were presented the Rising Star award. Corporate Partner of the Year was awarded to Alabama Power Company, Flournoy Companies, and Robinson, Grimes, & Company, CPAs. The Chairman’s Award of Excellence went to the Russell County Sheriff’s Office, and Columbus Consolidated Government received the President’s Award. 

TSYS was named the Million Dollar Corporate Partner and Wendi Jenkins received the “Women Helping Women” Volunteer Award. The Chris Rogers Youth Volunteer Award went to Andy DeRojas and the Housing Authority of Columbus received the Comeback Kid Award. Aflac was awarded the LIVE UNITED Spirit Award, and CTV Beam, The Ledger-Enquirer, PMB Broadcasting, WLTZ, WRBL, and WTVM were all recognized with the Hope Isn’t a One Man Band Award. 

The Columbus Campaign Cabinet consists of the following people: Teresa Abell, Meghan Blackmon, Kevin Blair, Wade Burford, Alina Chalkley, Jerry Coleman, Ron Daniel, Alison Dowe, Thomas Gristina, Pace Halter, Dr. Brett Helton, Kevin Johnson, Allan Kamensky, Christi Pennington, Len Sexton, Will Thompson, Johnson Trawick, and Dr. David White. 

The East Alabama Campaign Cabinet has the following members: Pastor Noble Williams, Billy Benton, Dr. Lana Atchley, Sgt. Jacob Williams, Brad Strickland, Teresa Brown, Mandy Hutchinson, Linda Finley, Cheryl Burns, Dr. Vivian Relf, and Mayor Eddie Lowe.  

Loaned Executives are: Kenna Arrington, Passionettia Brown, Wade Burford, Cpt. Glenda Hall, Tricia Jeffcoat, Ashley Lee, Shane McDougall, Kari McWhorter, Savonne Monell, Kevin Peoples, Roy Sharpe, Kayla Waltman, and Suzanne Widenhouse.